Flagship Events

Foundation Day & National Management Day

View Photo Gallery View Past Event

On 21st February 1957, 15 management associations came together to constitute All India Management Association; the national forum for promotion of management in India.

Since then this date has been celebrated as AIMA’s Foundation Day.

In 2006, AIMA celebrated its Golden Jubilee with Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, then President of India on its Foundation Day in 2006. February 21st was declared as India's 'National Management Day'.

This flagship event since then came to be known as the AIMA Foundation Day and National Management Day, which is celebrated every year by the AIMA network of 67 Local Management Associations (LMAs) all over the country.

The occasion also marks the presentation of AIMA Awards of Excellence, which include:

AIMA Life Time Achievement Award for Management

AIMA instituted this Award to honour some of the most eminent professional managers in the country for their outstanding achievement in Professional Management. This award is conferred to an individual who has received recognition beyond his own organisation for his achievements and has left a mark in the management profession, management thought and culture. Ratan Tata, Former Chairman, Tata Sons; Anu Aga, Former Executive Chairperson, Thermax Group; Keshub Mahindra, Chairman, Mahindra & Mahindra; Brijmohan Lall Munjal, Chairman, Hero Group of Companies; Azim Premji, Chairman, Wpro Group; V Krishnamurthy, Chairman, National Manufacturing Competitiveness Council; V Kurien, Chairman, Institute of Rural Management Anand & Gujarat Cooperative Milk Marketing Federation Ltd; Rahul Bajaj, Chairman, Bajaj Group; Ashok Ganguly, MP and former Chairman, Hindustan Unilever Limited; Dr Prathap C Reddy, Founder Chairman, Apollo Hospitals Group; Deepak Parekh, Chairman, HDFC Ltd; PRS Oberoi, Chairman, EIH Ltd are just a few names amongst a long list of luminaries that AIMA was privileged to honour with this award.

AIMA - JRD Tata Corporate Leadership Award

This award is conferred upon an individual who has made significant contributions to society and the nation at large. It is given in recognition of the recipient's personal values, ethics and corporate integrity in business and expression of these values in public. AIMA has recognised several luminaries which include Aditya V Birla, Former Chairman, Aditya Vikram Birla Group; Mukesh Ambani, Chairman and Managing Director, Reliance Industries Ltd; NR Naryana Murthy, Chairman Emeritus, Infosys Technologies Ltd; RA Mashelkar, Chairman, National Innovation Foundation, India; Sanjiv Mehta, Chairman & Managing Director, Hindustan Unilever Ltd; JJ Irani, former Director, Tata Sons Ltd; KV Kamath, former MD & CEO, ICICI Bank Ltd; Dilip Shanghvi, Founder & MD, Sun Pharmaceuticals Ltd; Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder, Chairman and Group CEO, Bharti Enterprises; Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman, The Aditya Birla Group; OP Bhatt, former Chairman, SBI; Adi Godrej, Chairman, Godrej Group; Anand Mahindra, Chairman & Managing Director, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd; N Chandrasekaran, Chairman, Tata Sons Ltd to name a few.

AIMA Public Service Excellence Award

AIMA instituted this award to recognise ‘Excellence in Public Service’ by Public Servants. This award is in honour of an individual's commitment to Social Responsibility and national issues. Stalwarts like Dr Randeep Guleria, Director, All India Institute of Medical Sciences; RS Sodhi, Managing Director, Gujarat Co-operative Milk Marketing Federation Ltd; SR Rao, IAS, then Municipal Commissioner, Surat; Devi Sharan, Indian Airlines; E Sreedharan, Former MD, Delhi Rail Metro; Nandan Nilekani, Former Chairman, Unique Identification Authority of India; Sam Pitroda, then Chairman, Knowledge Commission of India; Madhavan Nair, then Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation and Team; SS Badrinath, Chairman Emeritus, Sankara Nethralaya; Justice Santosh Hegde, former Lokayukta of Karnataka State; Madhav Chavan, Co-Founder & CE, Pratham have been honoured for their outstanding contribution to the society.

Some of the other awards presented on the day include the AIMA-Dr J S Juneja Award for Creativity and Innovation in MSME and the AIMA- Dr Ram Tarneja Award for Best Article in Indian Management.

For more information, please contact:

Bijoy Philip
Email: bphilip@aima.in

Submit Enquiry